Iowa Appraisal License Courses

IA


Online Iowa Appraisal Programs

Getting your Iowa appraisal license doesn’t have to be an overwhelming experience. With online courses, you can take your state required coursework online, on your own time. All of Allied’s appraisal license training programs are AQB approved. You can also meet your renewal requirements from the convenience of home. Enroll now to get started with your appraisal license training or fulfill your CE hours.

Is Allied approved to provide an Iowa appraisal pre-license education?

Allied’s Iowa real estate appraisal program is approved by the Iowa Real Estate Appraiser Board to provide comprehensive appraisal training to students in the state of Iowa.

Education

You must successfully complete the specified hours of approved real estate appraisal courses for each type of license, including a course of at least 15 hours that covers the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP). The specified hours include:

  • 120 or 180 hours for the associate real property appraiser classification
An associate real property appraiser is an individual who does not meet the experience requirements for certified residential or a certified general real property appraiser, but has meet the educational requirements of 120 or 180 hours and successfully passed either the certified residential or certified general real property appraiser examination. The associate real property appraiser must work under the supervision of a certified residential or certified general real property appraiser, depending on what examination is successfully passed.
  • A minimum of 120 hours for the certified residential real property appraiser classification.
  • A minimum 180 hours for the certified general real property appraiser classification.

Experience

  • Applicants for a certified residential real property appraiser certificate shall have a minimum of 2,500 hours of experience in at least 24 months.
  • • Applicants for a certified general real property appraiser certificate shall have a minimum of 3,000 hours of experience in at least 30 months. At least half of the 3,000 hours must be non-residential.

What are the continuing education requirements for an Iowa appraisal license?

You must complete a minimum of 28 credit hours in approved continuing education programs acquired during the two-year renewal period.

  • A minimum of 14 of the required 28 credit hours must include topics directly related to appraisal such as: Real estate appraisal law and rules Report writing Cost approach Sales approach Income approach
  • A minimum of 7 of the required 28 credit hours must be the 7-hour National USPAP Update course.
  • A maximum of 14 of the required 28 credit hours may be completed in home study or online courses.

I am licensed or certified in another state but I want to appraise property in Iowa. How can I become licensed in Iowa?

If you are a non-resident of Iowa seeking certification in this state, you can apply by completing the forms provided by the board and paying the appropriate fees. If you are applying for initial registration or certification within 12 months from the required renewal date, you can pay half the required fee. If you are applying for initial registration or certification more than 12 months from the required renewal date, you must pay the full registration fee.

  • The board may issue a reciprocal certificate to you if you are certified in your state of residence. The certificate or license must be in good standing.
  • The board shall seek verification from your home state that the certificate is valid and in good standing. A reciprocal certificate will not be issued without the verification.
  • As a reciprocal certificate holder, you shall comply with all provisions of the Iowa law and rules.
  • The board may exempt you from the national uniform examination provided that you have already successfully completed an examination like or similar to the examination administered by the board.
  • You shall be required to pay the federal roster fee.

How can I get a temporary license to do an appraisal in Iowa?

The board may recognize, on a temporary basis, two engagements per year from an appraiser that is certified in another state. You must register with the board; identify the property to be appraised; estimate the length of time you will be in the state; and provide a copy of your current license/certificate/registration. Registration must be submitted on the appropriate form or on your own letterhead and submitted to the board office prior to the performance of the appraisal.

79-Hour Appraisal Trainee Package

The 79-hour trainee package provides 75 hours of pre-license appraisal education, plus an additional four hours that focus on trainee/supervisory training. This package will help you prepare to become a trainee and is the starting point for a new appraisal career.

Includes:

  • Real Estate Appraisal Principles & Practices Course
  • 2016-2017 15-Hour National USPAP Course
  • Real Estate Appraisal Trainee/Supervisor Course

Price: $546.00

More Details

Enroll Now

New Low Tuition (Was $746)!

15-Hour National USPAP Course

The 15-Hour National USPAP Course is a requirement for all new appraisal students, providing information on the generally-accepted and recognized standards of appraisal practice in the United States.


Price: $300.00

More Details

Enroll Now


75-Hour Appraisal Licensing Package

The 75-Hour Appraisal Licensing Package is the next step after you have achieved trainee status and met applicable state requirements. It provides the additional 75 hours of pre-licensing education you need, with a focus on residential market analysis and highest and best use, site valuation and cost, report writing, and sales comparison to meet the education requirements.

Includes:

  • Residential Market Analysis and Highest and Best Use Course
  • Residential Sales Comparison and Income Approaches Course
  • Residential Appraiser Site Valuation and Cost Approach Course
  • Real Estate Appraisal Report Writing (QE) Course
Price: $525.00

More Details

Enroll Now

New Low Tuition (Was $576)!

7-Hour National USPAP Update Course

As an existing appraiser, you are required to complete the 7-Hour National USPAP Update Course every two years with instruction in overall USPAP updates as well as issues that appraisers face in their daily appraisal assignments and common USPAP violations.


Price: $150.00

More Details

Enroll Now


28-Hour Appraisal License Renewal Package

Stay on track with Allied’s 28-Hour National Appraisal License Renewal Package, which includes the 7-Hour National USPAP Update Course and 21 additional hours of approved appraisal elective courses.


Price: $402.00

More Details

Enroll Now

Certified Residential Appraisal Package

Upgrade your appraisal license with Allied’s 50-Hour Certified Residential Appraisal Package and get the education you need to change your license classification with coursework in the areas of Statistics, Modeling and Finance, Advanced Residential Applications and Case Studies, and Selected Topics in Appraisal.


Price: $595.00

More Details

Enroll Now

New Low Tuition (Was $795)!

Request Information
Renew Your License
Click here to get started!
Why Appraisal
Find out what it takes to become a real estate appraiser.
FAQ
Check out the most frequently asked real estate appraisal license questions.
Request Info