Start Your Online Appraisal Program Today
Select Your Program
Ready for your new career as a real estate appraiser? Or looking to renew or upgrade your current license? Allied Real Estate Schools has what you need to complete your trainee or license state-required education, prepare for the state license exam or keep your existing career on track. Find the program you’re looking for below and sign up for your courses today.
California Appraisal License Information:
What are the California appraisal levels?
As of January 1, 2015, there were updated educational requirements for students wanting to get their real estate appraisal license. Allied’s Appraisal Licensing Packages meet Appraiser Qualifications Board (AQB) and Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (BREA) regulations and provides students with the educational hours they need. Allied prepares you for the following three California appraiser license levels:
- AT - Trainee License: After completing Allied’s program, you’ll fulfill the requirements for an Appraisal Trainee License and need to submit 158 hours* of completion certificates when applying for this license.
- AL - Residential License: Once you complete all of your Trainee work experience and additional education requirements outlined below, you can sit for the state exam and apply for a Residential Appraiser license, with the qualifications to do your own appraisals.
- Residential Appraiser applicants must also provide proof of at least 30 semester hours of college-level education (any topic) or an associate’s degree or higher (any field).
- AR - Certified Residential Appraiser: Can appraise 1-4 unit residential properties regardless of complexity or transaction value, but are limited on non-residential properties. (Bachelor’s degree from a regionally or Nationally Accredited College required.)
You must successfully complete the specified hours of approved real estate appraisal courses for each type of license, including a course of at least 15 hours that covers the Uniform Standards of Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP). The 2015 educational requirements include:
- 158 hours* - 150 hours for the appraiser trainee classification, plus 4 hours of trainee/supervisory training and 4 hours of federal and state laws and regulations
- 158 hours* - 150 hours for the licensed residential classification (same 150 hours that was completed for Trainee), plus 4 hours of trainee/supervisory training and 4 hours of federal and state laws and regulations; an additional 30 semester hours of college-level education or an associate’s degree or higher is also required
- 50 hours for the certified residential appraiser classification
*Per the BREA, beginning January 1, 2017, all initial and reciprocal applicants will need to complete a BREA approved course on state and federal laws, that includes a final examination, prior to receiving a license. For initial applicants, this course will be in addition to all other required education.
Allied is proud to be one of the first approved providers to offer the revised Federal and State Laws and Regulations course with a final exam for both QE and CE. Call to learn more!
- There is no experience requirement for the appraiser trainee classification. As a trainee, you must work under the technical supervision of a licensed appraiser. You may assist on any appraisal within the scope of practice of the supervising appraiser.
- Applicants for a residential license shall have a minimum of 2,000 hours of acceptable appraisal experience encompassing a period of no less than 12 months.
How do I earn acceptable experience as an Appraiser Trainee (AT)?
The Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers (BREA) requires that you complete 2,000 hours of "on-the-job" experience, under the supervision of a Certified-level California appraiser, in no less than one year, and no more than 5 years.
As an Appraiser Trainee (AT), how can I find a supervising appraiser in California?
You can contact some of the professional appraisal organizations (Appraisal Institute, American Society of Appraisers, NAREA, etc.) in your area to see if any of their members are looking for trainee appraisers. If not, ask to get on their newsletter mailing list because opportunities for trainees may arise. You can also consider contacting the County Assessor’s office to see if there are any opportunities there. Or find appraisers by checking the "Find an Appraiser" page on the BREA website. You may perform a search of licensees by license level, in a specific city or by zip codes if you prefer.
What do I need to have to apply for the California Residential Appraiser License (AL) examination?
As a condition for entry to the examination, you are required to present one of the following forms of identification (it must include a photograph, signature and birth date):
- A currently valid driver’s license or identification card issued by the California Department of Motor Vehicles or equivalent agency.
- A currently valid military identification card.
- A currently valid identification document issued by the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services.
Also as a condition for entry to the examination, you are required to present the original examination admit letter as issued by the BREA.
What is involved in the California Residential Appraiser License (AL) examination application process?
Prior to taking the appraisal license exam, you must first submit the required application and fee to the BREA office. You can download the appropriate forms at the California Bureau of Real Estate Appraisers’ website (www.brea.ca.gov/html/allforms.html). If you are approved to take the examination, you will be sent an Admission to Examination Letter and booklet on how to schedule your examination.
Although BREA makes every effort to process all applications as quickly as possible, the processing times can vary. They are unable to estimate a general turnaround time for applications. Remember that you have one year after taking the state exam to apply for your California real estate appraisal license.
What is the current schedule for exams? Where are the exam locations?
The California Residential Appraiser License (AL) examination is currently offered several times per week, at any AMP location nationwide.
How do I renew my California Residential Appraiser License (AL)? What are the continuing education requirements?
All licensed appraisers must meet continuing education requirements before they can renew their license.
Although proof of completion of the 7-Hour Equivalent USPAP Update Course (#14CP828203004) is required every two years and must be submitted with each renewal application, proof of completion of the remaining continuing education courses is required every four years. Applicants must complete a total of 56 hours of continuing education during each four-year cycle.
*For the most complete and up-to-date appraisal information, please refer to your State Regulatory Agency for detailed licensure information.
Enroll now or talk with an Allied Representative today.
Choose Your California Appraisal Program Below: